Day 1: Every Journey Needs To Start Somewhere…

Today marks the first day of the path to loving me. As I mentioned previously, I want to tackle all aspects of wellness and attempt to strengthen each part, eventually leading to overall improved happiness. So here’s a preview of what I worked on today…

Physical Wellness: I am currently 187 lbs. and don’t want to necessarily drop that number but just feel more in shape than I currently am by October, which is when I am getting married. I used to be 140 lbs. all through the end of high school and the start of college but I had some thyroid medical problems that resulted in excessive weight gain (which also may have been influenced by some “welcome to college” drinking habits). I decided to begin watching what I am eating and try to get in a habit of working out more so I started out my day with some tea (which takes some getting used to if you’re not a regular tea drinker) and a banana. At about noon, I went to the gym and rode the stationary bike for about 13 minutes then proceeded to lift weights with my upper body. I prefer to lift weights over cardio just simply due to the fact that I feel like I am accomplishing more physically when I lift weights. I downloaded some fitness tracker apps and healthy recipes apps to my phone in an attempt to remind myself about this upcoming journey. Since I am not extremely hungry for lunch I currently am eating carrots and guacamole and I plan on cooking lean beef stuffed peppers for me and my fiancé tonight for dinner. (I’d say this is an overall good start) 

Intellectual/Occupational Wellness: For this, I am working towards my ultimate goal of becoming a doctor. I currently have a Bachelors of Science in Biology from the University of Wisconsin – Madison, however, I am not currently using the degree and am instead getting clinical hours by working as a CNA in a local hospital on the Orthopaedic department. I work every other day with the wonderful staff of nurses and doctors that get me more and more excited about my decision to further my education. On my off days, I am usually at the local two-year university taking various classes in an attempt to raise my undergraduate GPA. I graduated with a 2.763 GPA from UW – Madison and I know realistically this isn’t that great of a GPA if you want to get into medical school. The one upside of my GPA is the upward trend I show. My last 60 credits at UW came out to about a 3.2 and since then I have received nothing but a 4.0, however, I know that many schools will automatically reject me on the basis of my overall GPA (Yes, I am a realist and have come to terms with that). So today, I dressed up all professional and got my second opportunity to shadow a fantastic Orthopaedic surgeon in the clinic, and I have to say, he really does a good job at reminding me why I am so passionate about wanting to become a doctor. Specifically, I told him how I was worried about not getting into school and being stuck with a degree I am unsure how to use… his response: “You don’t need that type of mindset. If you decide you want to be a doctor, you will do whatever it takes to get there and ultimately become one.” He then proceeded to tell me about his journey and the different paths it took him. I have to say, this is definitely the best advice I have been given so far and it makes me more optimistic about my future. (And might help me to push through this MCAT studying I am about to partake in…) 

Leave a Reply

